#AusteninAugustRBR Announcement and Reading List

 

AusteninAugust

I just found out about this meme by way of The Classics Club‘s Twitter feed. It was created by Adam at Roof Beam Reader and is an annual event! I’m a fan of Austen’s books and anything related to her work, so I’m excited to join!

My picks are:

Northanger Abbey, Lady Susan, The Watsons, Sanditon by Jane Austen:

9780192840820

This is the 2003 Oxford World Classic’s edition I bought in college when I read Northanger Abbey for a Gothic Literature class. It also has her unfinished works, which I didn’t read then. I understand the titular Lady Susan is a good villain. Hank Green and Bernie Su adapted Sanditon into vlog form on YouTube a couple of years ago, like they did with Pride and Prejudice (The Lizzie Bennet Diaries) and Emma (Emma Approved). I enjoyed Lizzie Bennet and Emma Approved but didn’t want to watch Welcome to Sanditon until I’d read Sanditon itself.

Austenland  by Shannon Hale:

Austenland

An Austen-obsessed American woman looking for love goes to a (fictional) Regency theme park in England. I discovered Hale when I was still in the kidlitosphere, as she also writes for kids. This book sounds fun! It was made into a 2013 movie.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

